Installed Taxonomies and Post Types

You are here:

Taxonomies and Post Types

Two major building blocks in the WordPress environment are taxonomies and post types.

  • Taxonomy. A grouping of post types, such as categories and tags.
  • Post types. With post types, WordPress creates a distinction in different content types. For example, by default WordPress has different post types for “posts”, “pages”, “media”, etc.

WooCommerce Taxonomies and Post Types

WooCommerce creates a few different posts types and a couple of taxonomies to group those post types.

WooCommerce installs the following post types and taxonomies — the first levels are post types, and the second levels are taxonomies for their top-level post type.

  • Product: product
    • Product categories: product_cat
    • Product tags: product_tag
    • Product variation: product_variation (these are hidden from the UI)
    • Product visibility: product_visibility
  • Shop order: shop_order
    • Order statuses: shop_order_status
    • Order refunds: shop_order_refund
  • Shop coupon: shop_coupon
  • Shop webhook: shop_webhook
Was this article helpful?
Dislike 0
Views: 7